इलाहाबाद विश्वविद्यालय प्रयागराज-211 002



UNIVERSITY OF ALLAHABAD PRAYAGRAJ - 211 002

MINUTES OF THE 59TH EMERGENT MEETING OF THE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL FRIDAY, THE MARCH, 06TH 2020 AT 2:30 P.M. **VENUE: NORTH HALL, SENATE HOUSE CAMPUS, UNIVERSITY OF ALLAHABAD**

MEMBERS PRESENT

1.	Prof. R. R. Tewari	Chairman
2.	Prof. R.K. Chaubey	Member
3.	Prof. A.K. Mukherjee	Member
4.	Prof. Shekhar Srivastava	Member
5.	Prof. B.N. Tiwari	Member
6.	Dr. Anand Shankar Singh	Member
7.	Prof. Ranjana Bajpai	Member
8.	Dr. Bhure Lal	Member
9.	Shri Sunil Umarao	Member
10.	Prof. G.C. Rath	Member
1.	Dr. Archana Singh	Member
2.	Dr. Y.N. Jha	Member
3.	Prof. Neeta Sehgal	Member
L4.	Prof. Rohini Prasad	Member
15.	Prof. Shailendra Singh Gaurav	Member

At the outset, the Chairman extended a warm welcome to all the Hon'ble members of the Executive Council. After ascertaining the completion of quorum, the Chairman called the meeting to order and asked the Registrar (Secretary of the Executive Council) to place the Agenda for discussion and deliberations. Thereafter, the members were requested to fill up an undertaking in which they had to state whether they are applicant for the post of the Vice-Chancellor or not. If yes, they were requested not to participate in the deliberations of the meeting.

16. Prof. N.K. Shukla, Registrar

Five members, namely Prof. R.R. Tewari, Prof. Rohini Prasad, Prof. Ranjana Bajpai, Prof. Shekhar Srivastava and Dr. Anand Shankar Singh along with the Secretary moved out the Meeting Hall. Prof. Aseem K. Mukherjee had also applied but later on he had withdrawn his application through e-mail as well as through Post. Prof. Mukherjee enclosed a copy of the same along with the undertaking. Prof. Tewari then requested Prof. Aseem K. Mukherjee to Chair the meeting.

Prof. R.R. Tewari, before leaving the meeting hall requested the members to discuss the matter so that the secrecy is maintained.

Agenda No. 01/59 To consider nominating two persons for the Committee to be constituted as per the Statute 2.(2) of the University of Allahabad for recommending panel

Vice-Chancellor

Secretary

University of Allahabad

[1]

of names for the appointment of the Vice-Chancellor, University of Allahabad as required by letter no. F.No.32-1/2020-CU-V dated 07-01-2020 of Shri Surat Singh, Deputy Secretary to the Government of India, Ministry of Human Resource Development, Department of Higher Education, New Delhi.

- Note:(1) As per the Clause 2.(1) of the Statute of University of Allahabad Act, 2005, the Vice-Chancellor shall be appointed by the Visitor from a panel of not less than three persons who shall be recommended by a Committee as constituted under Clause (2).
 - (2) As per the Clause 2.(2) of the Statute of University of Allahabad Act, 2005, the committee referred to in clause (1) shall consist of three persons, out of whom two shall be nominated by the Executive Council and one by the Visitor and the nominee of the Visitor shall be the convener of the Committee:

Provided that none of the members of the committee shall be an employee of the University or an institution maintained by, or admitted to the privileges of, the University or a member of any authority of the University.

(Letter no. F.No.32-1/2020-CU-V dated 07-01-2020 is circulated)

Resolution No.01/59 After through deliberations for nomination of two persons as nominees of the Executive Council under Statute 2.(2) of the Statutes of the Allahabad University Act, 2005 for the constitution of the Search Committee for the appointment of the Vice-Chancellor, the members arrived at a consensus and finalized two names to be sent to the Ministry for the purpose. The sealed envelope (signed by all the members and sealed by the Chairman) containing the names was handed over to the Secretary of the Executive Council for further necessary action.

The meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.

(Prof. N. K. Shukla) Registrar

3/2020

(Secretary)

(Prof. R. R. Tewari) Vice-Chancellor (Chairman)

Vice-Chancellor University of Alfahabad